Structure of Parliament

Parliament consists of the Queen represented by the Governor General, the Senate (Upper House), and the House of Representatives (Lower House).
Parliament democracy as we understand it today is based upon the consent of the governed. Sovereignty resides in the people and it is they who decide who shall occupy the seats of power.

The King

His Majesty King Charles III

The King of the United Kingdom and 14 other Commonwealth realms, is the Head of State and represented by the Governor General, the Senate and the House of Representatives.

The Governor General

Her Excellency Dame Dr. Cécile La Grenade

The King's representative is the Governor-General. The Governor-General summons Parliament, brings its session to an end by prorogation, and formally assents to every bill before it can become law. The Governor-General exercises all these powers on the advice of the Prime Minister and the Cabinet.

The Upper House

The Senate

The Senate (also referred to as the Upper House) consists of thirteen (13) Members. All bills must be passed by the Senate before they can become law and it has the constitutional right to reject any bill, and keep on rejecting it as often as it sees fit. It can also amend any bill, although it cannot initiate or increase the amount of any bill dealing with taxation or expenditure.

The Lower House

The House of Representatives

The House of Representatives (generally referred to as the Lower House) is directly elected by the people, and although by tradition the Senate is the Upper House and the House of Representatives is the Lower House, it is the House of Representatives which plays the predominant part in the parliamentary system.


Houses of Parliament


Grenada Houses of Parliament © 2023. All Rights Reserved